Documentation

Shares, Snapshots and Clones

Create a share

Share related operations including creating a share can be done from the Shares view. In the web-ui, click on the Storage tab to enter the main Storage view. Now click on Shares in the left sidebar to enter the Shares view. If there are any shares in the system, they are displayed in a table. If there are large number of shares, the table is paginated and the current page number is displayed below the table along with Prev and Next buttons.

The display can be sorted by individual columns by clicking small up/down arrows displayed in each column header.

_images/shares_view.gif

Click on Create Share button and the create share form will be displayed. Submit this form to create a new share as shown below.

_images/create_share.gif

When creating a share, an arbitrary size can be chosen to thin provision or over provision the share. As long as the underlying pool is resized enough to accommodate the share capacity, users will not see out of space errors. If a share’s usage exceeds the provisioned capacity or underlying actual capacity, out of space errors will occur as users try to write.

Resize a share

A share can be resized by increasing or decreasing it’s provisioned capacity. Go to the Storage tab of the web-ui and click on Shares in the left sidebar to enter the Shares view. In the displayed table of shares, click on the share to be resized to enter the share detail view. Now, click on the Resize button and a small form is dispalyed. Submit it after entering the new desired size as shown below.

_images/resize_share.gif

Note that a share cannot be decreased to a capacity lower than it’s current usage.

Delete a share

A share that is not in use and has no snapshots can be deleted. However, if a share is made available to remote clients via NFS or SMB, or has snapshots, it cannot be deleted. So, ensure that all snapshots have been deleted and that the share is not in use before deleting it.

Go to the Storage tab of the web-ui and click on Shares in the left sidebar to enter the Shares view. In the displayed table of shares, click on the trash icon corresponding to the share to delete it as shown below.

_images/delete_share.gif

A share can also be deleted by clicking the Delete button inside it’s detail view.

Clone a share

A Clone is a Share that is an exact copy of the Share (or Snapshot) that it was created from, at the time that it was created.

In Rockstor, clones can be created from shares or snapshots.

To clone a Share, go to the Storage tab of the web-ui and click on Shares in the left sidebar to enter the Shares view. In the displayed table of shares, click on the share to be cloned to enter the share detail view. Now, click on the Clone button and the form to create a clone is dispalyed. Submit it after entering a desired name for the soon to be created Share as shown below.

_images/clone_share.gif

To clone a snapshot, see clonesnap.

Clone a snapshot

A Clone can be created from a Snapshot of a Share. This is useful if you wish to create a new Share that is an exact copy of the Snapshot.

In the web-ui, click on the Storage tab to enter the main Storage view. Now click on Shares in the left sidebar to enter the Shares view. In the displayed table of shares, click on the desired share to enter the share detail view, and click on the Snapshot tab to view the list of snapshots of the share. Click the Clone button to display the form to create a clone. Submit it after entering the new name for the newly created share as shown below.

_images/clone_snap.gif

Rollback a Share

A Share can be rolled back to any of its snapshots. This is useful if you wish to restore a Share to it’s previous state represented by its snapshots

In the web-ui, click on the Storage tab to enter the main Storage view. Now click on Shares in the left sidebar to enter the Shares view. In the displayed table of shares, click on the desired share to enter the share detail view. Click the Rollback button to display the form to select a snapshot to rollback to, and submit the form as shown below.

Note: Shares that are exported through NFS or Samba cannot be rolled back. The NFS or Samba shares should be deleted before the share can be rolled back.

_images/rollback_share.gif